Don’t Ask Me!

Greetings. Time for another admission of musical innocence. Looking back to the heady times of the late 1970’s and early 1980’s I increasingly think I was walking around with my head in the clouds. Although, hindsight is a wonderful, if sometimes deceptive, viewpoint.

I mean, was there any reason for me to instinctively know that the exciting band I saw at the Brighton Dome in the early 80’s had a musical heritage from some of the classic rock I was also listening to? I had been passed the album ‘Blizzard of Oz’ by a friend with a casual remark about ‘them’ coming to the Dome later in the month, if I was interested. I gave the album a listen and on the strength of it decided to give them a look.

It was a great gig. I seem to remember the support band were ‘Preying Mantis’ – why that name sticks in my head I don’t know, because it was the man in act that blew me away – and no wonder – for I was watching the marvellous Ozzy Osbourne and his short-lived sidekick Randy Rhodes strut their stuff. It was at least a few months later that I made the connection between Ozzy and the band Black Sabbath – not least, in my defence, because at the time my only Black Sabbath album had a certain Ronnie James Dio as its frontman.

But I wonder now if my musical innocence made that evening at the Dome even better than it would have been had I known of Ozzy’s pedigree. I wonder if my lack of expectations made the performance appear that much more sparkling and fresh? And although Randy Rhodes’ untimely death may have assured his place in a hall of fame,  that evening it was his pure energy and skill that made him stand out still in my memory. All of which is a preamble to my turning to another section of my drumming-family tree – the so-called ‘New-Wave-of-British-Heavy-Metal. Here is my take on the opener from Ozzy Osbourne’s return from Rock hermitage – the album ‘Blizzard of Oz’ – “I Don’t Know.’

Til next time,

Seex

About Seex Dyer

Stage name of Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Working in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Drums and Drumming, This week's thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

