Song Within A Song

moonmadnessSong Within A Song – Camel

Greetings.

The trouble with being an eclectic purchaser and fan of music is that, on a platform such as this, one very quickly runs out of interesting ways to say – “I just found this album somewhere…and liked it.”!

Added, in my case, is the fact that I’ve never really been very good at being a fan. By that I mean I tend not to get too carried away with the details of the bands I like (Not even on the technical side.)

Hence there’s a whole list, probably longer than proverbial string, of stuff that I don’t know about the bands that I like. Take RUSH. A firm favourite. Hours of listening time 90's kitinvested in them. But. I can’t tell you how old Neil Peart is, what sort of kit he is using now, his favourite food, his height or even his preference for cymbals.

I have picked up a few bits and pieces, of course. But the main thing for me has always been simply enjoying the music. Which is all fine, until it comes to writing about a band like Camel.

It seems I’m in danger of falling between two camps – desert camps, obviously – because on the one hand my ambiguity about the band may well appall hardened Camel fans, while on the other my stark lack of any ‘insider knowledge’ may leave newcomers to them asking ‘so50 what?’.

So what can I tell you?

This album was another of my happy-accidental purchases. It looked quite ‘proggy’ and I thought I had heard of the band somewhere…sometime. I played it and…quite liked it. I say ‘quite’ because of, I think, the slightly ‘clean’ production values. Very precise it seemed, which is something I wasn’t really able to appreciate at the first.

Plus, for me, the drum tracks seemed to lack ‘punch’. Technically very good but the drum sound was a little too smooth for my tastes at the time. But, importantly, there was enough in the quality of the playing and the tunes to make sure that, now and again, the CD would come out and be given a fresh airing.

camel1However, as with most things in life, it wasn’t until I tried it for myself that I discovered just how good the music is. I’m not overly sold on everything having to be a personal experience – I can take a lot on faith and through respect for the validity of others’ experiences – but I often find with music that there may be tunes that you think are straightforward to play – because they are easy on the ear – but are actually quite tricky to play. Camel’s music fits snugly into the latter.

Still, here is my take on ‘Song Within A Song’, with no doubt a couple more to follow…

 

 

Enjoy! ‘Til next time,

moi 4Seex

 

p.s. If the music piqued your interest, here is a link to the Wiki entry for the band – Camel!

About Seex Dyer

Stage name of Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Working in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Drums and Drumming, This week's thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Song Within A Song

  1. Paul Diss says:

    Great playing mom ami, inane at least one Camel album on vinyl but it’s not this one. All the best we are playing next Wed. If you’re up for it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

