SAGA – ‘Conversations’

Railway Winchester 17th April 5 img_6297SAGA – ‘Conversations’

Greetings friends,

This week is another look at the Canadian Prog band SAGA, notably one of their fine instrumental pieces.

The very first time I heard this I thought it was a well crafted and exciting piece but over the years I’ve come to find – that is, hear – and appreciate some of the nuances of its composition. The part I notice and enjoy the most is, I think, the musical reflection of the theme – conversations.

Each of the instruments are responding to each other across the track, which is interesting in itself; but the added nugget of ‘what-d’ya-wanna-talk-about?’ is nicely used as a counterpoint and hook line also.

220px-Saga_worlds_apart_alternativePutting up the video this morning I realised again how far we have come from the pre-internet days in terms of the availability of music and video from all over the world.

As I mentioned in my last post, for years SAGA were an unknown quantity to me. I had two of their albums – which I thought were great – but that was all I knew.

No-one else seemed to have heard of them and they didn’t appear in music magazines or press over in the U.K. (I’m sure they did somewhere – do share if you have any info!)

But this morning as I logged in to YouTube there were all the links to SAGA – playing live in Germany, USA – all over the place! Lots of tracks and footage from across the years.

My only wonder is, would I have appreciated SAGA and their musicianship as much if I had just ‘chanced’ upon them in the ether today? I somehow think not. The tendency, or should I say, my tendency, is too often to just ‘sample’ a few minutes of a band and then click on the next link.

Steve Negus

Steve Negus

That is a very different experience from finding, listening, listening again – and again – and coming to cherish. I’m sure that this still happens but I can’t help but fear that some great moments of music get missed along the way!

Well, on with the music that has ‘made it’! This is my cover of ‘Conversations’. I haven’t stuck completely to Steve Negus’ drum patterns, except where they are integral to the piece – apologies to Steve who may well feel they are all integral! I’m just jamming on it really.

Enjoy!

‘Til next time,

Railway Winchester 17th April 14 img_6297 (2)

Seex

About Seex Dyer

Stage name of Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Working in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Drums and Drumming, This week's thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

