Time Stand Still

Railway Winchester 17th April 6 img_6297TIME STAND STILL

RUSH drum cover

Howdy folks! Well as I’ve been ‘documenting’ these drum covers I’ve realised that they really do represent some musically significant moments in my life. And today’s is no exception. The track is ‘Time Stand Still’ from the album ‘Hold Your Fire.’

hold your fireSignificant moment number one is that this was the first tour, for RUSH, that I managed to get hold of a ticket. I remember going along with a fellow-drummer named Danny – no-doubt we both stood in awe during Neil’s ever more complex solo!

However, significant moment number two is really that the band had embraced a whole load of the new technology that was coming in at the time – MIDI’s, sequencers and synthetic drum pads and all sorts of things. (They had also embraced the hair styles of the day!) To be honest, it wasn’t the ‘stage’ of their music that I would have most wanted to go and see live – it all came off really well and the songs stand for themselves but I was still more inclined to the late 70’s to mid 80’s stuff.

Neil 3

I don’t remember much else from the concert. When I next saw them in 2009 I think, they too seemed to have re-evaluated their past records and it was a much more balanced performance.

What I do remember is that Neil did a long piece in the program (which I have somewhere!) about how he went about choosing his kit for the tour.

Drum technology was on the up too.  I could only find this picture of his kit from the tour 90's kitbefore…note that he is using two bass drum still, and their is no sign of synthetic kit or pads.

The funny thing about some albums is that you don’t listen to them very often, but when you do you really like them…but only for one or two listens more. Then you put them away again. That’s my relationship with this album.

And from that ‘occasional’ listening habit I pulled out ‘Time Stands Still’ as my track to cover. From a technical point of view it is another step further than some of the earlier pieces and you can feel Neil expanding his ability to use cross-rhythms – as he experimented with sound effects and percussion sounds on his hi-tech synth pads.

I don’t have those, so on the cover I’m improvising using the cowbell, wood-block and hi toms!

Enjoy!  I may well have to take a turn back to a previous album… think I missed one favourite track out!

‘Til next time,

stick spinner

 

 

 

Seex

About Stuart Dyer

Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Works in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Drums and Drumming, This week's thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time Stand Still

  1. Paul Diss says:

    Nice action pic. of your good self mate, I consider myself a lucky man to have you as a drummer and a friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

