YYZ

stick spinner

YYZ

Name That Tune #3

Well, we’re nearly through the RUSH era…

Only a few more RUSH tracks to get out of my system and then onto some other material.

This has actually been an interesting part of the journey – how my actually sitting down and finally getting to grips with technically learning the pieces I have listened to for so long has, in a strange way, allowed me to ‘put them to bed’. Or, to use another common analogy ‘put them back in the box.’

Which is a sentiment I know Mr Peart is familiar with. In one of his lyrics he encourages his audience to:

‘set aside the alienation, get on with the fascination, the real relation, the underlying theme.’

Which I have always taken to mean – don’t worry about trying to be like me, go and play your own stuff and get involved in the underlying fascination of your instrument/calling/skill. And, to be fair, this is something I have done in my drumming so far; I have tried not to ‘sound-like’ anyone except me and, as I grew in confidence, the needs of the song increasingly dictated what that should be.

So it’s interesting, having ‘given in’ to the temptation to consciously emulate Neil Peart’ s playing, to find that, as Peart implies, it isn’t anywhere near as satisfying as being oneself!

On the other hand, I am thoroughly enjoying sharing in the sparks of Peart’s creativity. I guess I have to remember to go out from this to humbly seek to fan the creative God-given spark of my own!

So, here is another of my favourite tracks – YYZ. One of the instrumental pieces that the trio bravely put on their mainstream albums. Loved by fans, hummed the world over!

til next time,

Seex (pic by Ben Bell)

Seex (pic by Ben Bell)

About Stuart Dyer

Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Works in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Drums and Drumming and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

