Xanadu

Murg studioXANADU

Name That Tune #2

Welcome back…

Another blast from the past today folks with another track from the RUSH back catalogue.

Todays track is ‘Xanadu’. It is fairly typical RUSH (A FAREWELL TO KINGS)of the style of song that RUSH built their reputation upon in the 70’s – a long, almost orchestral track with a strong sci-fi / fantasy narrative. It, along with the rest of the album are part of what I was listening to even before – or should I say “while I waited to” pick up sticks and have a go at drumming myself. Even then Neil Peart’s playing on tracks like this on the rest of A Farewell to Kings left me pretty breathless.

It still does. The thing I notice now, given the chance to replicate – or re-interpret – his work is that it is one thing to be able to ‘de-code’ what a player has composed. That has a level of satisfaction. But the big difference is whether one would have come up with the rather lovely fills and grooves that Peart did?

I’m happy to put my hand up and say that I very much doubt whether I would have come up with work of such high quality.

A-Farewell-To-KingsSo, for me, this is a happy time actually playing along to a track that I have listened to so many times it has become Рclich̩ alert Рpart of my personal soundtrack. But it is also a chance to learn something new Рmany things in fact. It is good to be stretched Рand this track, as with all Mr Pearts work, is great fun to play once you master it, but also encourages the development of technique and skill.

(I have edited the long, atmospheric intro – largely because I was just noodling about on the wood block etc!)

Enjoy!

I gave a little nod to my previous band mates on the last video. This one, I’m going to dedicate to my nephew Ben Lancaster. We shared many happy hours chatting about music such as this back in the day; I think we even tried to play some of it together? Anyway, Ben, I still have the audio tape (yes, audio-tape) of this album that you gave me – this one is for you!

Til next time,

Railway Winchester 17th April img_6297

About Stuart Dyer

Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Works in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Drums and Drumming and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

