Closer To The Heart

Murg studioCloser To The Heart

Name That Tune #1

Welcome back!

Well, for some of us it is Holiday time in the U.K, in more ways than one.

The mighty Fusion Orchestra 2 have taken a break after a storming session at the Dagenham Festival – more to follow on that soon.

So exactly what is a young drummer to do when his faculties are not being stretched by the likes of Dawson, Fraszek and Bell? Indeed. And what to do with all this time in between students and classes.

Well it seemed time to go and look again at some of the racks that I have loved listening to but have never really had time to learn properly. There is a good reason for this. I’m a bit of a Magpie when it comes to drumming. I will ‘pick out’ the parts I like and try and work out how those are done, rather than sit and learn the whole thing as a piece – unless it is a song I’m going to play, of course.

I’m talking about those tunes where you aren’t going to get a chance to play them but you may well pick up some ideas/fills/etc from them that you can integrate into your own sound and style.

As I thought about this, the idea of recording some of my favourite, seminal tracks came to feel like a useful thing to do – for my own fun and pleasure and also for posterity.

So, here is the first, more to come.

“Closer to the Heart” by RUSH, from the album “A Farewell to Kings”. This shouldn’t come 2013-10-10 17.41.56as a surprise to any regular readers, given the album is one of my Top Three of a Kind. (See blog here.) 

I will also come clean and admit I did play this as a cover in one of my first ever bands The Passion – a great college band with Tim Hoareward and Chris Cobbett – if you are out there chaps, this one is for you!!

But it was good to  find that I could still play it, with a lot less effort than it used to take me, as I remember. I hope you enjoy it:

 

 

While I was noodling away about the tracks and trying to remember the pieces and share them with your good selves, I’ve been thinking about the whole concept of ‘covering’ other people’s music.

It’s good to admire other people’s work and, on occasion, use it as a way of learning new things – new techniques etc. I have certainly been doing that while playing along to these tracks from my ‘Memory catalogue’.

But I’m not really interested, if I’m honest, in making my covers perfect copies, down to the very last beat. (A good job too, because in some cases that would be impossible!)

Not only that but it isn’t really what I believe music is about. Music is a creation, not a copy. Just as I am a piece of creation and not a carbon copy of anyone else. The real joy in making music is, really, in making your own music.

Even if that is just you playing along to someone else, in your own way!

Til next time,

SeexTake Care,

 

About Stuart Dyer

Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Works in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Drums and Drumming, This week's thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Closer To The Heart

  1. Chris says:

    Wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

