Peter Johannsen & the Device Of Wonders!

Coming soon to a Kindle near you!

PJADW fig 2 Device

I’ve just pressed the ‘publish’ button on the Amazon website which means that my first novel will soon be available to buy online!

I must admit that finally making the decision to publish online has been quite liberating. I originally intended to take the traditional route of physical publishers, agents etc but with each passing rejection letter I found myself considering my own motives for this path.

A few months of research and reading around the subject led me to the conclusion that most material is probably rejected ‘out of hand’ on small matters of presentation, or perceived market forces or…or…a whole list of things that meant that I had what amounted to an infinitesimally small chance of overcoming these and getting my book actually in front of a publisher.

(Not least, it seemed to me was the fact that I don’t know anyone already in the publishing business and that my public life is not in the news!)

In some ways it seemed to come down to the question of “Why do I write?” In the first instance I write because I have to. It is a source of pleasure and fulfillment for me. I am now more acclimatised to the notion that the secondary reason for writing is the desire to share thoughts and experiences with others.

It is this drive that has led me to use online publishing. In fact it wasn’t until I pressed the button this morning that I fully realised how much this second facet meant to me. Some of

Why don't you write me?

Is anyone listening?

my initial warmth towards self-publishing was, I admit, a knee-jerk ‘Who are these people sat in their offices deciding what is and isn’t worth people reading?’! But something about knowing that my work is out there for people to read if they wish – that I can direct people to it rather than just telling them that I have a book ‘waiting’ to be published is a wonderful feeling.

My next thought, having uploaded the book was – “Hey, I  could publish my poetry!” And it has further incentivised me to finish the book I’m working on at the moment.

There have been lots of articles and discussions around the future of publishing which I won’t attempt to summarise here. My personal parallel is the changes that have taken place in the record business since I first picked up sticks and began playing in bands.

To assert today that you can’t get your music across to people without a signing to a major label has been rightly rendered a ridiculous statement to make. Being a musician on the receiving end of the digital age I know that the new model has produced a whole range of issues – not least the funding of artists and the need for musicians to be more competent as managers and publicists than ever before. (See ‘Musician or Manager?‘)

Play it!The huge corollary to that however, is that creativity is no longer stifled by business. Creativity can be shared in a whole range of forms and the audience, rather than an executive, stand a chance of being the ultimate arbiter of quality and worth.

And so it’s back to you, dear reader. In a couple of days, once the book is available, I’ll be sharing some excerpts and illustrations from ‘Peter Johannsen and the Device Of Wonders’ the rest is up to you – but at least this time you can make the choice rather than rely on someone else to make it for you!

Til next time,

Seex

About Stuart Dyer

Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Works in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Peter Johannsen & the Device Of Wonders, This week's thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peter Johannsen & the Device Of Wonders!

  1. Pingback: Peter Johannsen and the Device Of Wonders | rattledrum

Leave a Reply

