What’s in the box?

Howdy,Howdy folks,

Well, something a little different this week for percussion fans.

I’ve been looking to include some more percussion in my repertoire for a little while and had heard and seen some good things with folk performing with what looked like old tea chests!

Pardon my ignorance but these turned out to be ‘Cajon‘s’ – pronunciation seemed to vary betwen each drum shop I tried so I won’t attempt a definition!

Thanks to the kind folk at Bern‘s Drum store in Chichester I came across this little oddity – a ‘laptop’ version. It’s smaller than the usual chest and, for me, a little more comfy to play. Plus I was intrigued to see what the potential of the instrument is before shelling out mega money for the really decent sounding versions – if at all.

So, this morning, it came out of it’s box and the video is the result.

I’m looking forward to experimenting more – both through watching other players and just finding out for myself. I’m also keen to use it with good friend and singer/guitaristPaul Diss in an acoustic duo setting.

Shall keep you posted on all the above as we go! But for now, here’s the video –

’til next time,

Seex

About Seex Dyer

Stage name of Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Working in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Drums and Drumming, This week's thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s in the box?

  1. craigmooga says:

    I’m getting a cajon for Christmas and although a drummer, I’m no expert at playing the cajon!
    How have you found that laptop version? It looks pretty interesting! In the video it sounds nice and crisp when you’re slapping it, but there doesn’t seem to be any great depth to the bass – is it just the microphone you were using or does it actually sound like that?

    I’m going to be exploring practise techniques etc. for the cajon on my new blog, it’d be great if you could check it out at some point.
    http://cajonblogger.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Seex Dyer says:

    Hello there! Thanks for your message. Well, as you can no doubt see, I’m also just finding my way around on the Cajon too. You’re absolutely right, the sound doesn’t really come out unless you use some good quality speakers – when I connect my notebook even to an external pair of speakers the bass does come out much better. (Although, compared to a full sized version, there may well be a difference in volume?)
    I’m not sure how unusual this version is – I know I hadn’t heard of any like it when I was searching before I went to my local drum emporium but the guy just went out back and brought this out. Part of the appeal was that it was just that bit more portable (visions of taking it camping with the gang or busking) and I wouldn’t be bent over to play (I was just recovering from a nasty dose of back pain!)
    But of course the sound, too, was a seller. I’d put it around the mid-range of the one’s I tried out. Not quite as warm as ound as some of the top range cajons but not as dry as the entry level ones.
    Hey, good luck with your new blog – and I hope Santa brings you a nice box!
    Seex

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Secrets of the Cajon and what makes it so popular « ListenToGoodMusic

Leave a Reply

