Cycloboy Rides Again – 6

St Martins’ Church, Westmeston, East Sussex

So, I’ve signed up for Christian Aids’ ‘Cathedrals to Coast’ bike ride.

I’m really glad to be supporting the work of Christian Aid. See the link for more details of what they do, and if you feel so inclined you could sponsor me at my justgiving address too.

Lacking in nearby Cathedrals I thought it might be fun (?) to build my training rides around local churches instead.  Eventually, so the theory goes, enough churches will mean I’m ready to tackle some Cathedrals!

Well, the actual event is getting close – 3 weeks to go. One casualty of mixing training with working and music and writing etc have been my training posts! Sorry folks.

I have been out on my bike, honest! The main training ride, two or three times a week, has been a 15 mile route up to Cuckfield, along to Bolney then back through Burgess Hill. Sadly no churches to ‘photo.

Plus a few longer rides such as out towards Guildford, back through Horley etc. I hope to post some of these before I go.

So, to help clear the back log here’s Training Session number 6.

Training Session No:  6

Distance: 22.8 miles (That’s 23 in my book)

Time: 1 hour 48mins (There and back)

Average speed:  Um, I make that 15 miles an hour!

Name of Church: St Martins, Westmeston…C of E …This church gave me a lovely surprise as I rounded the bend on a steep hill. It had been a beautiful clear and crisp evening and now, rounding the bend, there was no traffic nearby and instead across the little lane came the sound of the organ being played in the church. Sadly nowhere to sit really and definitely no tea or coffee facilities. Onward!

Fitness Feedback: Legs – not too bad at all. A bit early to say that I’m back to where I was before but hey, progress is being made. Lungs – working properly but thiThe porch at St Martinss time less burning on the hills. Stamina – getting better! The big difference was when I got home and found that my legs were still working. But I’m afraid that Scaynes Hill totally beat me. Hmm, could be a target!

Weather: As you can see from the pics, a lovely Sunday morning!

Roads: Nice quiet country roads for the most part so avoided alot of traffic. Great to be out in the countryside. Have to watch out for different sorts of traffic – i.e. horses! Not so good on the way home, down the main road to Lewes and back.

Navigation: I’ve decided to include this in the Stats as, knowing me, it won’t be long before I get well and truly lost somewhere. Today I was again thinking I would come out somewhere that turned out to be completely different to where I actally did… but that was quite fun too. I wasn’t a million miles away but it does make you think that my head just takes all the places I’ve ever been and does that shaking thing – a bit like a snow scene – and it all comes out jumbled.

Coffee:  This all turned out a bit weird. As I came along the lane there was a sign for ‘Daisy Mays Cafe’ – what a lovely name, thought I, sounds like my kinda coffee venue. Unfortunately I went past many a lovely country cottage before arriving at the Cooksbridge railway crossing and finding Daisy had set up shop right next to the track, opposite the sawmill and builders yard. Undeterred and gasping I went in and nearly came straight out again because I thought I was in the wrong place. It seemed more a country hunting store – full of guns and wax jackets and fly fishing equipment.

But no, the young girl (I didn’t meet Daisy May) served me quite a good cappucino. It was out of a machine but not that bad. (In hindsight and looking at my average speed perhaps I was just desperate.) No, let’s be fair, it was o.k. The sad thing was there was nowhere to sit really except for the car park overlooking the road the railway line and the builders yard parking area. Hmm, do I need to rate the car park? Not the most unpleasant car park I’ve ever been in, but perhaps Daisy should think about setting out some chairs – even some hunting chairs?

Traffic Tantrums / Near misses:A very pleasant 0. Unless you count having to slow down for 2 horses and an extra large tractor.

Wildlife: Ah, the country air = cow poo in major quantities. Still, beats exhaust fumes anyday. A multitude of rabbits, 1 dead fox and that’s about it. I’m sure they’re out there but I just didn’t see it. Going too fast?

Bugs Eaten: 4 – lots of midges but to be honest didn’t notice them – they must slip down easily by now

Recovery Time: Mucho grando improvemento. Still know that I’ve done a ride but I think that’ll take a while to improve at this rate.

See you next time,

Cycloboy

About Stuart Dyer

Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Works in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Articles, Cycling, This week's thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cycloboy Rides Again – 6

  1. Sugel says:

    There’s not a weekly routine. It’s so varied, depending on travel and race schedules. I generally do three-day blocks of hard training — two days of hard intervals, one long day and then an easy day. It varies a lot, from 30-second intervals up to 20-minute intervals. It depends on what the goal is and what time of year it is, and where I’m at fitness-wise.

    Like

  2. Seex Dyer says:

    Thanks for that! It sounds as though you are way ahead of me in fitness terms – although I note that you vary the intensity of your training, which I do as well. Are you in any races coming up?

    Like

Leave a Reply

