Rattledrum News 1st July

Phew and I thought  last week was busy!  Seex (pic by Ben Bell)

A mixed few weeks with some goodbye’s and possibly some important hello’s in musicland.

had another really good rehearsal this week at Sound Central Studios. We were playing in the room they call the ‘live room’ which is used as their main recording room. From a drummer’s point of view it’s a really good room to work in because the wooden floors and larger area mean the drums can resonate properly. However, it does get very hot very quickly!

No gigs booking yet, so if you are a pub or club in the West Sussex area and would like to book us, do have a look at our website and check out some of the tracks on the link below:

Click here to hear it on our page.  

I have a cunning plan to do a cycling tour of some of the pubs in my local area that have live music and see if I can hand over some of our business cards (with very natty links using QRI reader) in the hope of landing some shows. Shall keep you posted!

Main news this week is that FO2 have moved to WordPress! So, do visit our new home website at – new.fusionorchestra2.com

On the audio page you should be able to hear some of the recordings I was talking about last week. The recording quality is pretty good, although best listened to on proper speakers if you can connect to them!

I went over to Ben’s house last week and we chose a mix for a type of ‘medley/compilation’ track, with snippets of some of the tunes.

This week we recorded again, this time hoping to capture two of the newer bits of material – “Leaving It All Behind” and “Secret Shadow” (aka ‘Marrow’ for a reason that everyone seems to have forgotten!)

Recording is a good discipline. It teaches you to listen very carefully to what is going on around you and how your work fits in with this. (Or not.) My frustration is that, because I am a very improvisational player, I sometimes feel that I have missed the best take – or elements of it, usually. I hear it again and think, oh, I could just put a little ‘?’ in there.

I have to accept that I will probably have to play the songs a lot more before I settle into a really concrete regular pattern. I’m nearly at that stage with the older material, so I know it will come!

In other FO2 News – I’m going to blog a short SciFi story which I’m hoping will meet the bands approval for inclusion on the website – I’ll link it here when it’s up.

Plus I think I’ve finally found a useful structure for my FO2 drum solo – video coming up soon!

Other News

A shame to be saying ‘Au Revoir’ to the Perdido Players. I’ve really enjoyed playing some of the great jazz songbook with these experienced players, but there is only so much time left in my busy day, so last night was our last gig of the Summer season and possibly our last together. (Although in all probability I’ll be ‘helping out’ whenever I’m free!)

cosmonaut_poster_jackdaw3

jackdaw3_poster_psych

(A shame these came as PDF so you’ll have to click on the link.)

Some of the Borderline pics, in case you missed them –

        

‘Til next time,

Seex

About Stuart Dyer

Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Works in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Drums and Drumming, This week's thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rattledrum News 1st July

  1. Pingback: FO2 Solo | rattledrum

  2. Pingback: FO2 – basic solo parts | rattledrum

Leave a Reply

