Double Kick Doodle

Seex (pic by Ben Bell)

Well, another day, another part of the Fusion Orchestra 2 solo…(For part 1 click link here.) Today I’ve been experimenting with (or ‘doodling about’) with the double kick pedal. I’ve begun to use the pedal alot more since working with FO2 – as I hope you’ll hear on some forthcoming tracks. So, in thinking about the solo I wanted to include some double bass work. I will probably put in touches of it all through, it’s great for effects, but I wondered if I could come up with something that used it as a kind of ‘stand alone’ bit of the kit.

This took some doing and by the end of the afternoon I had all of 3:50 mins worth sharing. (This was really annoying as yesterday I was definitely ‘in the zone’ with it but had thought “That’s O.K., I’ll remember it all tommorow” – but it didn’t turn out that way!

I’m fairly pleased with it. If I’m lacking in energy that’s because this was at the end of a 2 and a half hour practice. (Good for the thighs though!)

Cozy Powell in Black Sabbath.

Cozy Powell in Black Sabbath. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The middle section, where I’m doing single stick rolls, over the simple double bass pattern is pure Cozy Powell. I heard him do this on one of his albums, though I can’t remember which one unfortunately. I don’t think it was Black Sabbath, despite the pic. He was, for me, one of the masters of Double Kick Drum technique, although in later years he relied on the simpler stuff that I’m doing a bit more.

This way of working on a solo by approaching a piece at a time is working really well. It gives me a chance to reflect on each part before moving on to the next. What will be interesting is whether I can bring all the pieces back into a coherent whole! I’m toying with the idea of making a montage of all the different video clips and then learning that as though it were a single solo. We’ll see.

Until next time,

Seex

About Stuart Dyer

Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Works in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Drums and Drumming, This week's thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Double Kick Doodle

  1. Pingback: Rattledrum News 18th June | rattledrum

  2. Pingback: Rattledrum News 1st July | rattledrum

  3. Pingback: FO2 Solo | rattledrum

Leave a Reply

