Cycloboy Rides Again 3

So I’ve signed up for Christian Aids’ ‘Cathedrals to Coast’ bike ride.

(Seriously it is for a good cause and I’m really glad to be supporting the work of Christian Aid. See the link for more details of what they do, and if you feel so inclined you could sponsor me at my justgiving address too.)

Lacking in nearby Cathedrals I thought it might be fun (?) to build my training rides around local churches instead. Who knows? If the training went well, I might include some not so local churches too! Eventually, so the theory goes, enough churches will mean I’m ready to tackle some Cathedrals!

So, onward to Training Session number 3.

Training Session No:  3

Distance: 12 miles

Time: 1 hour 10 mins (There and back)

Coffee Shops: A kind blogger put me on to this missing Stat! How could I have been so reckless as to not put in some of the most important Cycloboy information. Profound apologies. Anyway, Dithcling has 2! And a good Pub. One is called ‘Dolly’s Pantry’ – very nice old oak beams, little chairs and rickety chairs – all very quaint – the other (the one I frequented) is simply known as the Larder.  But, excellent coffee, gorgeous cakes and a very ‘New York Loft’ atmosphere. Highly recommended, even if you’re not in serious cake training like what I am. But – no-one asked for my name at any time during the proceedings! Fab.

Average speed:  Um, I still make that 10 miles an hour. Hmm, need to work on that.

and another pic - this time with tree!

Name of Church: St. Margarets 

Fitness Feedback: LegsAh yes. Feeling abit more human and a lot less wobbly today.  Lungs – working properly but again, burnt a bit on the hills. Stamina – getting better! The big difference was when I got home and found that not only were my legs were still working, but I had enough energy to move about even to the end of the day!

Weather: As you can see from the pics, another lovely spring day!

Roads: Not a great route. Had to travel along some pretty busy roads before things slowed down as I drew near Ditchling. Lost of mild hills but that is good…I think.

Navigation: I did cheat with this one – Ditchling is on a pretty straight route from my home town so even I couldn’t miss it. There were a few tempting side roads as I came into Ditchling but I resisted the temptation to go down them adn stuck to the main drag.

Traffic Tantrums / Near misses: No near misses but the frustration of drivers waiting to pass me as I crawled up the final and largest hill toward hometown was pretty tangible. But, for a change, I’d like to say thank you to the nice person in the big blue lorry for not revving your engine at me as we neared the top.

Wildlife: Still plenty of Cow poo evidently and some serious amounts of road kill. Plenty of scavenger crows and the like as a result.

Bugs Eaten:  A measly 1 – but he waited until I was at the top of the hill and consequently nearly killed me as I had precious little breath left to spare anyway. Must have been a ninja fly.

Recovery Time: Still reckoning on about two or days until there is no pain my little old knees, so a way to go yet.

See you next time,

Cycloboy

About Stuart Dyer

Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Works in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Articles, Cycling, This week's thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cycloboy Rides Again 3

  1. Pingback: Cycloboy Rides – to Amsterdam! | rattledrum

  2. Pingback: Cycloboy Rides Again 5 | rattledrum

Leave a Reply

