Cycloboy Rides Again 2

So I’ve signed up for Christian Aids’ ‘Cathedrals to Coast’ bike ride.

(Seriously it is for a good cause and I’m really glad to be supporting the work of Christian Aid. See the link for more details of what they do, and if you feel so inclined you could sponsor me at my justgiving address too.)

Lacking in nearby Cathedrals I thought it might be fun (?) to build my training rides around local churches instead. Who knows? If the training went well, I might include some not so local churches too! Eventually, so the theory goes, enough churches will mean I’m ready to tackle some Cathedrals!

So, here’s Training Session number 2.

Training Session No:  2

Distance: 12 miles

Time: 1 hour 10 mins (There and back)

Average speed:  Um, I make that 10 miles an hour!

Name of Church: Streat something…C of E …Ummm sorry, forgot to look again. Really must remember to check out the names of these churches.Very pretty again with super views to the downs.

Fitness Feedback: Legs – not too bad this time. A bit early to say that I’m back to where I was before but hey, progress is being made. Lungs – working properly but again, burnt a bit on the hills. Stamina – getting better! The big difference was when I got home and found that my legs were still working.

Weather: As you can see from the pics, a lovely spring day!

Roads: Nice quiet country roads for the most part so avoided alot of traffic. Great to be out in the countryside. Have to watch out for different sorts of traffic – i.e. horses!

Navigation: I’ve decided to include this in the Stats as, knowing me, it won’t be long before I get well and truly lost somewhere. Today I just kept thinking I was somewhere else. Still, it makes a nice surprise when you actually arrive…somewhere.

Traffic Tantrums / Near misses:A very pleasant 0. Unless you count having to slow down for the horses and 1 tractor.

Wildlife: Ah, the country air = cow poo in major quantities. Still, beats exhaust fumes anyday. A multitude of rabbits, 1 dead badger and a lovely Jay.

Bugs Eaten: 4 – lots of midges but to be honest didn’t notice them – they must slip down easily. 

Recovery Time: Mucho grando improvemento. Still know that I’ve done a ride but I think that’ll take a while to improve at this rate.

See you next time,

Cycloboy

About Stuart Dyer

Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Works in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Articles, Cycling, This week's thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cycloboy Rides Again 2

  1. dianebrent says:

    Enjoyed Rides Again 2. So nice to see there are others out there tackling the same conservative distances I had in mind, and I love the “church” theme. That could translate to may other modes like historic sites, espresso bars, soft serve ice cream shops…. enjoy!

    Like

    • Seex Dyer says:

      Ha, you’re so right – coffee bars are probably the new churches anyway. Are you riding for anything in particular or just for fun?

      Like

      • dianebrent says:

        I will be doing the LiveStrong Challenge again this year. That is August 19 in Blue Bell, PA. The longest ride I’ve done is 53 miles. So the main thing is I need to get back on the bike. Riding is a way to mix things up. I want to work on my cadence and build from there.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Cycloboy Rides Again 3 | rattledrum

  3. Pingback: Cycloboy Rides – to Amsterdam! | rattledrum

  4. Pingback: Cycloboy Rides Again 5 | rattledrum

Leave a Reply

