Bands on the Run

Well, I’ve been having a busy old time with the music for a couple of months but things have finally come to a point where I’m able to share something of what I’ve been up to. Not that it needed to be shrouded in secrecy but I wanted to wait until the projects had matured a little bit until I shared them.

You may have noticed from my biog that I aim towards ‘balance in all things.’ Well, it seems I have been able to acheive a balanced musical life at the moment. I have found my Ying and manged to locate my Yang at the same time! I’m very grateful for this wonderful time.

Fusion Orchestra 2

O.K. On the Ying front I have been happily recruted by Fusion Orchestra 2. Again, you may have picked out from my biog and some of the drumming references that I grew up with Prog Rock bands such as RUSH, Yes and others and I have always listened and admired most of the Prog Rock drummers. I’m very fortunate to now be playing in a Prog band myself – Fusion Orchestra 2!

We have a gig in London, at the Borderline Club on April 28th and are busy rehearsing both numbers from the EMI Album ‘Skeleton in Armour’ as well as some new numbers. Check out the website for details – hopefully it should be updated by now.

Tickets for the show can be had here.

It’s wonderful to be constantly challenged to find the most inventive and also musically apt phrase or approach in my playing. I’m hoping to be able to post some relevant video soon – both of the gig and some of the drum parts for those who like that sort of thing. Excellent!

For my Yang I’ve been busy rehearsing with ‘Runaway Jack’

Find us on Facebook – or visit the website here. This is a soulful rock/folk band. These guys are writing some really super tunes but they are at the opposite end of the performance spectrum. Each of the tunes is fairly simple, with an emphasis on a good melody and a simple feelgood experience. So when my head (and limbs!) are aching from a Fusion Orchestra workout it’s fab to be able to sit back and let a more laid back sound drive the whole thing. Still all self penned bar a couple of re-worked covers.

We’re looking forward to gigging soon so I’ll keep you posted.

Cheers,

Seex

About Stuart Dyer

Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Works in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Drums and Drumming, This week's thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bands on the Run

  1. Pingback: Runaway Jack Rehearsal | rattledrum

  2. Pingback: Pre-gig warm up | rattledrum

  3. Pingback: Free Style intro for Drum solo – idea #1 | rattledrum

  4. Pingback: Rattledrum News June 11th | rattledrum

  5. Pingback: Rattledrum News 18th June | rattledrum

  6. Pingback: Rattledrum News 1st July | rattledrum

Leave a Reply

