Practice kit solo #1

(Having problems with loading the video – there is a link below if it doesn’t appear here!)

I realised at a recent rehearsal that, while practising on a reduced kit – i.e. a snare, hi-hat and kit pedal – was helping my rudiments, it was not really helping me when it came to actually ‘getting around’ the rest of the kit.

So, off to the shed to uncover my old faithful Pearl Export and it has been pressed into service as a practice kit.

My main thoughts behind this solo were twofold:

a) See if I can improve my mobility around all the kit, especially the floor tom

b) See if I can bring in some of the ideas that I had played around with on my snare solos.

It certainly isn’t perfect – it seems a bit ‘stilted to me, and there aren’t enough dynamics. (Plus, I’m afraid the sound quality leaves a bit to be desired…but you never know what Santa may bring!)

I shall, as Mr. Peart has it…

“…get on with the fascination, the real relation, the underlying theme…”

Practice Kit solo #1

About Stuart Dyer

Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Works in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Drums and Drumming, This week's thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Practice kit solo #1

  1. Pingback: Stick Trick | rattledrum

Leave a Reply

