Embrace yourself – Mindfulness week 3

 

The book...

The really hard thing about trying to convey thoughts is that they are so subjective. How hard then to get across those thoughts about thinking? I’m afraid I’ve chickened out and have decided to just put a few sentences and let you make of them what you will. Otherwise we’ll all go down in a spiral of introspection. Most are just lines from my notebook. (for the past couple of weeks I wrote down anything that had struck me as worth remembering

Illustration depicting thought.

Image via Wikipedia

after meditating)

The book is really helpful, ‘though I have to keep reading each chapter afresh as I approach the meditation tasks, lest I forget.

I must learn to investigate more, expect to be challenged more.

Be kind to yourself when you don’t achieve what you hoped (but maybe you hope for too much!)

I so often allow the mind to ‘drive the day.’ Try and allow yourself the space to choose today.

See if you can work from within to without today.

See if you can see each activity of the day as something you are fully doing, without the need for the completion of it. E.g. ‘I am driving to this place. I will arrive when I arrive.’

Felt I should say sorry to my body for not listening to it all these years.

Be kind to yourself. Don’t battle with yourself. Embrace yourself.

There’s not a right or a wrong way to ‘be’. You are as it is.

 

The easy thing: meditating when all is still and quiet in the house

The hard thing: remembering to draw on this when you feel anxious.

 

So, I’ll definitely keep going. I am sleeping better and feel more relaxed about a whole range of things, and actually have remembered to use the quick meditation in some stressful situations. But definitely wouldn’t say it is deeply embedded in my daily practice. Maybe that never comes?

 

 

 

About Seex Dyer

Stage name of Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Working in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in This week's thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Embrace yourself – Mindfulness week 3

  1. Pingback: Relax: A Liquid Mind Experience on Meditation Music

  2. Pingback: meditation for stress | Smart Stress Management

Leave a Reply

