Lines

 

...the track you go down...

Lines

 

I stopped my bike

On the bridge that goes over

The line you travel along.

And the track you go down

Goes under

The road I cycle along.

 

I wondered if ever

You went under this bridge,

That goes over the track

As I cycled above;

If you went down through the tunnel

One day,

As I followed the road above?

 

For a moment,

My heart sighed.

For every day,

You would go under and on,

And I would go over and on,

Carried away ‘long our tracks and lines

And ne’er the two combine.

 

Then a smile.

For tonight,

After you’ve gone

Under and along and out

And I’ve gone over, along and down and about,

We’ll be free of these constraining paths.

 

Free to go under, or over, above

And below;

Along and beyond, wherever we will,

Together.

 

...wherever we will...

© S Dyer 2011

 
 
About Stuart Dyer

Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Works in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

