Mindfulness week 1

Breath is all, and bright yet

Ok, I’m going to come clean and say that I’m going to have start the course again! The aim was to meditate at least twice each day and already I’ve failed to manage that. Oh dear. Never mind (boomboom!)

Not all is lost though, as I’ve already gained some interesting insights, so instead of a recount of meditation revelations here are a few tips for anyone starting out as I am:

  1. Do not start doing the gardening (or washing, or tidying, or…anything else) until you have had your first meditation session of the day. You may think I’ll do it while I … or even I’ll do it after I’ve… but it wont happen!
  2. Be prepared for the fact that you will spend more time using your over-active mind to think about meditating than actually meditating!
  3. Also be prepared for the fact that your mind is incredibly strong and it can feel as though it is actually impossible not think and just breathe. (I’m hoping this will change with practise.)
  4. If nothing else, your first faltering steps will at least confirm most of the things that Mark Williams talks about in the book. And you just have to accept that this is how things are at the moment. That is why you’re attempting this after all!

As I said, it’s not all bad news. Most of the times I have manged to meditate have been very helpful and I have begun to see it as a way of re-centering myself. And there have been some interesting discoveries. All I can put today are some of the events where I have actually managed to ‘be mindful’ and have enjoyed a lot more as a result. So here are my top 3:

  1. Swimming. The swish of the water, the sounds and feelings were fabulous, as though I’d never been in the water before. (Do NOT attempt to do the breathing exercises underwater, as this is troublesome 🙂
  2. Drumming. ‘Mindful Drumming’ – yes, I’m sure it would appear to an oxymoron to some but just ‘being in the moment’ and playing what felt right is a definite good-step along a path I was moving to anyway. I know some of the licks were from ‘autopilot’ but there was a real sense of freshness and experimentation that was great.
  3. Gardening. Especially collecting up leaves! What a great collection of sounds and smells from a handful of little ol’ leaves. (And yes, there’ll be plenty of time to practise this one as Autumn approaches.)

So, back to the drawing board (or book.) I’ve put me toes in the water and it’s been mostly good so far.  And I must be kind to myself about it all – (that’s probably No. 5 actually) – it’s only my mind that is putting myself under pressure to do it all ‘perfecto’!

Happy meditating!

 

About Seex Dyer

Stage name of Stuart Dyer, Christian Writer and Musician living in West Sussex, England. Working in the hope of producing the worthy novel or solo; giggles at Oliver Hardy, Peter Sellers and Spike Jones; admires Hudson Taylor, Dickens, Salinger, Bill Bailey and Neil Peart; listens from Wagner to Miles with lots of stops in between; dances to motown and aims to achieve balance in all things.
Aside | This entry was posted in This week's thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mindfulness week 1

  1. Pingback: Day 283 – Happy Mondays no. 4 « Life with Lizzi

Leave a Reply

